The Claws of Philosophy

If I were to ask you what your philosophy of life is, what would you say?  Now that you have answered this question (or at least have pondered it), have you pondered how this affects other parts of your life?  Take for instance your marriage…how has your philosophy affected your marriage?

This is something that I recently began to really ponder in my own life.  It is truly amazing how much our philosophies impact all areas of our lives.  This whole aspect of my philosophy of life came about last week when I was listening to someone share their life’s story.  I began to wonder what my philosophy was when it came to life.  One day, last week while at lunch, I decided to sit down and write out my philosophy.

After that hour, I began to really see why I am in the place I am at in life.  As I began to extrapolate this belief to other areas in my life, I also saw how it affects them as well.  This belief oozes its claws into all aspects of our lives – whether we see it or not.

It is important for you to take time to discover what your philosophy of life is as well.  If you have never done this exercise, I highly recommend taking the time.  If you have done this before, but it has been awhile.  I would encourage you to revisit your philosophy and see if it still fits your beliefs.

If you notice, like I did, that you have a negative aspect to life, then take some time to rewrite what you want it to be.  Since that day, I have been taking time each day to rewrite what I want my philosophy to say about life.  Please note: just because you write it out does not make it your philosophy.  I am learning that I need to recite my philosophy constantly in order to really change it and make it my mine.

It takes time to unpack what we believe and then repack what we want to believe.  During this time, we fall back and move forward.  I know it can be frustrating…trust me.  You might be wondering how much energy does it take to change.  I have found that it is easier than we think, but still it takes a lot of focused effort.  The effort to change is as simple as setting your alarm in the morning and getting up to it without pressing the snooze button.

To finish this post, I want to share what I am learning.  Everything with our philosophy comes down to what we believe about our potential.  To change our potential you have to believe you can do it.  When you believe you can, the energy you put forth towards your potential increases.  Your heightened action will give greater results, which then pushes your belief higher.  This keeps cycling in an upward progression.  However, the opposite is true as well.  If you give less energy, then your you will have less results, which will then lower your belief in yourself and your potential.

What tugged on you during this post?

