Stage 5: Acquisition Part 2

In the last post, I began telling you a story that illustrates my naked approach to marriage.  This is just one conversation that shows how vulnerable I am willing to be with my wife.  Actually, on a funny side note, did you know that the word “intercourse” has a meaning that alludes to communication.  Yeah, I know…we have more intercourse than we originally thought…LOL!

Okay, back to the story to let you know how it ended.

After my wife said, “Really?!” for the second time, I kept digging.  I informed her that I wanted to know from a woman’s perspective if she felt that was a good idea; especially since there are examples of this in the Old Testament.  She then asked me if I thought it was a good idea.  Did I stop here?  Nope…I kept digging.  I told her that I thought it did makes sense from a man’s perspective.  She then shut down and became very angry.  From the outside looking in most would understand why she was so frustrated, but not me.  I couldn’t understand why she was so frustrated, being that I was asking from such a broad perspective.

It was from this experience that I realized that woman take things personally.  What I mean by this is that when I was asking my wife about what she thought, I was asking her to respond based upon how all women would feel – not just her.  So; when she asked me what I thought, I was responding based upon a perspective from all men – not just men.  However, what she heard was that I wanted to cheat.  When I began to clarify what I meant, she then began to see what I was meaning and we were able to discuss this in a calm and rational matter.  It was actually a great conversation.

How does this reveal the 5 Stages of a Cycle

Stage 1: Awe-bduction – This happened as soon as I overheard their conversation.  My thoughts were stuck on this subject and I was abducted by the thoughts of how to fix this.

Stage 2: Anticipation – This was when I began to look forward to what she would think about my question.  I thought it would go much better than it did…that is for sure.

Stage 3: Apex – The apex happened when she asked me what I thought and I told her that it made sense to a man.

Stage 4: Awareness – I am glad to say this stage came very quickly to me.  This happened once I began to become aware of why she was so frustrated.  Once I realized that she thought I wanted to cheat on her, I quickly explained what I was talking about.

Stage 5: Acquisition – In this stage we both came to the understanding of what I was trying to portray with my question.  I told my wife that I would not grope her because I did not want her to feel awkward or used.  I did tell her that after a few months of me not grabbing her she will probably start to miss it.  I felt this might be the case because she might begin to wonder if I still found her attractive.  Side note: About four months later, she came back and informed me that she was missing it, but we had to define how it was to be done.

What tugged on you during this post?

